The Planetary Society was founded in 1980 by Carl Sagan, Louis Friedman and Bruce Murray. The society is the world’s largest and most influential non-profit space organization and is under the leadership of CEO Bill Nye, Supported by over 50,000 members in over 100 countries The Planetary Society introduces people to the wonders of the cosmos, bridging the gap between the scientific community and the general public to inspire and educate people from all walks of life.